Not Found
Webcast

The Law of Insurance Contracts and the ‘Rules’ of Policy Interpretation



Dates



Description

Insurance policies are subject to the standard law of contracts; but beyond simple contract law, insurance contracts are bound by unique provisions and requirements specific to insurance. An understanding of these unique legal characteristics is necessary to understand the insurance contract. Once the unusual characteristics of insurance contracts are understood, the rules for reading any insurance policy can be applied. In this class students learn:

  • The basic provisions of contract law;
  • The unique legal characteristics of insurance contracts;
  • The general construction of insurance contracts;
  • The ‘rules’ for reading and understanding ANY insurance policy; and
  • Why exclusions exist. 

Course Materials

Faculty

Christopher J. Boggs, CPCU, ARM, ALCM, LPCS, AAI, APA, CWCA, CRIS, AINS's Profile

Christopher J. Boggs, CPCU, ARM, ALCM, LPCS, AAI, APA, CWCA, CRIS, AINS Related seminars and products


Christopher J. Boggs, CPCU, ARM, ALCM, LPCS, AAI, APA, CWCA, CRIS, AINS, joined the insurance industry in 1990. He is the Executive Director of the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America (Big "I") Virtual University. His current duties involve researching, writing, and teaching property and casualty insurance coverages and concepts to Big "I" members and others in the insurance industry.

 

During his career, Boggs has authored more than 300 insurance and risk management-related articles on a wide range of topics as diverse as Credit Default Swaps, the MCS-90, and enterprise risk management. In addition to this, Boggs has written 13 insurance and risk management books:

  • "The Insurance Professional's Practical Guide to Workers' Compensation: From History through Audit," now in its second edition;
  • "Business Income Insurance Demystified: The Simplified Guide to Time Element Coverages," now in its third edition;
  • "Property and Casualty Insurance Concepts Simplified: The Ultimate 'How to' Insurance Guide for Agents, Brokers, Underwriters and Adjusters;"
  • "Wow! I Never Knew That! 12 of the Most Misunderstood and Misused P&C Coverages, Concepts and Exclusions;"
  • "Insurance, Risk & Risk Management! The Insurance Professional's Guide to Risk Management and Insurance;"
  • "Workers' Compensation: How You Can Effectively Answer Your Clients 12 Most Commonly Asked Questions;"
  • "Glossary of Insurance Terms;"
  • "Choosing the Best Risk Financing Option;"
  • "Writing Property and Liability Coverage for Condos;"
  • "The Truth about Enterprise Risk Management;"
  • "The Experience Mod Worksheet;"
  • "What has ISO Done to us Now?" and
  • "Cancellations, Non-Renewals & Conditional Renewals: THE Insurance Professional's Guide to Statutory Insurance Carrier Notification Requirements for All 50 States!"

 

Boggs is a regular speaker at industry events, speaking for groups such as the National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies (NAMIC), the National Society of Insurance Premium Auditors (NSIPA), the American Association of Managing General Agents (AAMGA), the Institute of Work Comp Professionals (IWCP), and the CPCU Society.

A graduate of Liberty University with a bachelor's degree in Journalism, Boggs' background includes work as a risk management consultant, loss control representative, producer, claims manager, and quality assurance specialist


Dates

Thu, Oct 28, 2021 - 10:00am to 12:49pm MST-Arizona
Tue, Nov 02, 2021 - 10:00am to 12:49pm MST-Arizona
Wed, Nov 10, 2021 - 11:00am to 01:49pm MST-Arizona
Thu, Nov 18, 2021 - 11:00am to 01:49pm MST-Arizona
Tue, Dec 07, 2021 - 11:00am to 01:49pm MST-Arizona
Wed, Dec 15, 2021 - 11:00am to 01:49pm MST-Arizona
Thu, Dec 23, 2021 - 11:00am to 01:49pm MST-Arizona
Wed, Jan 12, 2022 - 11:00am to 01:49pm MST-Arizona
Fri, Jan 28, 2022 - 11:00am to 01:49pm MST-Arizona
Wed, Feb 09, 2022 - 11:00am to 01:49pm MST-Arizona
Fri, Feb 25, 2022 - 11:00am to 01:49pm MST-Arizona
Wed, Mar 09, 2022 - 11:00am to 01:49pm MST-Arizona
Fri, Mar 25, 2022 - 10:00am to 12:49pm MST-Arizona
Wed, Apr 13, 2022 - 10:00am to 12:49pm MST-Arizona
Fri, Apr 29, 2022 - 10:00am to 12:49pm MST-Arizona
Wed, May 11, 2022 - 10:00am to 12:49pm MST-Arizona
Fri, May 27, 2022 - 10:00am to 12:49pm MST-Arizona
Wed, Jun 08, 2022 - 10:00am to 12:49pm MST-Arizona
Fri, Jun 24, 2022 - 10:00am to 12:49pm MST-Arizona
Wed, Jul 13, 2022 - 10:00am to 12:49pm MST-Arizona
Fri, Jul 22, 2022 - 10:00am to 12:49pm MST-Arizona
Wed, Aug 10, 2022 - 10:00am to 12:49pm MST-Arizona
Fri, Aug 26, 2022 - 10:00am to 12:49pm MST-Arizona
Wed, Sep 14, 2022 - 10:00am to 12:49pm MST-Arizona
Fri, Sep 23, 2022 - 10:00am to 12:49pm MST-Arizona
Wed, Oct 12, 2022 - 10:00am to 12:49pm MST-Arizona
Fri, Oct 28, 2022 - 10:00am to 12:49pm MST-Arizona
Wed, Nov 09, 2022 - 11:00am to 01:49pm MST-Arizona
Fri, Nov 18, 2022 - 11:00am to 01:49pm MST-Arizona
Wed, Dec 14, 2022 - 11:00am to 01:49pm MST-Arizona
Fri, Dec 23, 2022 - 11:00am to 01:49pm MST-Arizona

Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:      4.8

Total Reviews: 303

Please wait ...

Back to Top